Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

May 30, 2007

The closest competition in Horizon League history resulted in co-winners of the 2006-07 James J. McCafferty Trophy, recognizing the League's all-sports champion. Butler and UIC tied for the top honor and both schools were presented with the award at the League's Executive Council meeting in Lake Geneva, Wis., on Wednesday (May 30).

The all-sports competition came right down to the final weekend of the 2006-07 sports year, when UIC captured the Horizon League baseball championship and moved into a tie with Butler in the all-sports standings. Both schools compiled 49 points in the final standings. The closest previous margin in the all-sports race was in 1999-2000, when UIC edged Butler and UW-Milwaukee by a single point to capture its first McCafferty Trophy.

This year's McCafferty Trophy was Butler's sixth overall and first since 2002-03. The Bulldogs have won the all-sports trophy more times than any other current Horizon League member and trail only former League members Notre Dame (7) and Oral Roberts (7) in the all-time McCafferty Trophy standings.

UW-Milwaukee, winner of the previous three McCafferty trophies, finished third in this year's competition with 46 points, followed by UW-Green Bay with 32.5 points. Loyola (32) was fifth, followed by Wright State (31), Cleveland State (27.5), Detroit (17.5) and Youngstown State (13.5).

Butler claimed four league championships during the 2006-07 year, winning tournament titles in men's and women's cross country, men's tennis and women's golf. The Bulldogs also shared the regular-season crown in men's basketball, while finishing second in women's basketball and women's tennis.

Seven of the League's nine member schools won at least one team championship in 2006-07. UIC captured titles in women's tennis and baseball, UW-Milwaukee won the volleyball title and swept the men's and women's indoor and outdoor track championships, Wright State won the men's basketball, men's swimming and softball trophies, and UW-Green Bay took the women's basketball and women's swimming crowns. Loyola won both the men's and women's soccer titles and Detroit captured the men's golf championship.

UIC edged Butler for the men's all-sports trophy, while UW-Milwaukee finished just ahead of the Bulldogs for the women's all-sports crown.

The symbol of a successful broad-based athletic program, the McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to the member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points. Schools earn points based on their finish in all 19 championship sports sponsored by the League. For the sports of men's and women's soccer, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, baseball and softball, points are awarded based on combined regular-season and championship finishes. In the sports of men's and women's cross country, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track and field, men's and women's swimming, men's and women's golf and men's and women's tennis, points are based on performance in the League championship.