Butler Ties For Second In McCafferty Trophy Race

Butler Ties For Second In McCafferty Trophy Race

May 31, 2006

For the third consecutive year, Butler has finished runner-up in the Horizon League competition for the McCafferty Trophy, recognizing the league's all-sports champion. The Bulldogs tied with UIC for second place in the final standings behind all-sports champ UW-Milwaukee.

The symbol of a successful broad-based athletic program, the McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to the member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points in league championships. The trophy is presented in honor of James J. McCafferty, the former Xavier University men's basketball coach and director of athletics who served as the league's first commissioner in 1979-80.

Schools earn performance points based on their finish in all 19 sports the Horizon League sponsors. For the sports of men's and women's soccer, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, baseball and softball, points are awarded based on combined regular-season and championship finishes. In the sports of men's and women's cross country, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track and field, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's golf, and men's and women's tennis, points are based on performance in the league championship.

The Bulldogs, who have won the McCafferty Trophy a league-high five times, were second in the league in men's sports scoring (22.5 points) and fourth in women's sports scoring (17.5 points). Butler captured league championships in men's and women's cross country, men's tennis and women's golf.

UW-Milwaukee won a league-high seven championships in 2005-06 and compiled 53 performance points in the all-sports competition to win the trophy for a third consecutive year. Butler and UIC both finished with 40 points, while Loyola came in fourth with 29.5 points. Youngstown State (27) wound up fifth in the competition, followed by Cleveland State (26), Wright State (25.5), UW-Green Bay (22.5) and Detroit (19). Eight of the nine league members won at least one team championship during 2005-06.

The McCafferty Trophy has been presented to the league's All-Sports Champion since the league's inaugural season in 1979-80. Oral Roberts won the award for the first seven years, before Evansville captured the first of two successive trophies in 1986-87. Notre Dame won seven straight titles from 1988 to 1995, while Northern Illinois took the crown in 1995-96. Butler won the first of three consecutive all-sports championships in 1996-97, UIC took the title in 1999-2000 and UW-Milwaukee won its first all-sports championship in 2000-01. Butler was again the champ from 2001 to 2003, before UW-Milwaukee began its current run in 2004.