Butler Places Second in Horizon League McCafferty Trophy Standings

Butler Places Second in Horizon League McCafferty Trophy Standings

June 2, 2005

Butler finished second among the Horizon League's nine schools in the James J. McCafferty Trophy standings, the league office announced Wednesday (June 1). The award is given annually to the League's All-Sports Champion and honors McCafferty, who served as the first commissioner of the League from 1979-1980. The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee won the award. Butler won the award in 2001-02 and 2002-03 and has won five McCafferty Trophies in the last nine years.

Butler and UWM are the only current League institutions to win the award more than once and Butler's five McCafferty recognitions are more than the rest of the Horizon League's current members have won combined (four). Butler also placed second last season.

Butler finished second with 39.5 points, behind UWM's total of 49. UIC grasped a close third with 38. UW-Green Bay was awarded the fourth place position with 33.5 points as Wright State finished in fifth place with 31. Detroit claimed sixth place with 29.5 points while Loyola (29 points), Youngstown State (18.5 points), and Cleveland State (16.5 points) rounded out the field.

The Bulldogs tied UWM for the league-lead with four postseason championships. Butler teams captured first-place finishes in men's and women's cross country, men's tennis and women's golf. Butler placed third in both the men's and women's All-Sports Award competitions with 20.5 points on the men's side and 19.0 in women's competition. UW-Milwaukee collected the Men's All-Sports Award (28 points), while UW-Green Bay captured the Women's All-Sports Award (23 points).

The McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to the member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points in league championships. The trophy is presented in honor of James J. McCafferty, the former Xavier University men's basketball coach and director of athletics who served as the league's first commissioner in 1979-80.

Schools earn performance points based on their finish in all 19 championship sports offered by the Horizon League. For the sports of men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's and women's basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on the combined regular season and championship finish. In the sports of men's and women's cross country, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track and field, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's golf, and men's and women's tennis, points are awarded based on the finish in the league championship. Each school then counts five men's and five women's sports toward its championship total.