Butler To Induct Eight Individuals, Two Teams Into Hall of Fame

Butler To Induct Eight Individuals, Two Teams Into Hall of Fame

July 12, 2004

Eight former student-athletes and two unbeaten football teams will be inducted into the Butler University Athletic Hall of Fame on the final weekend of July. The 2004 Hall of Fame class will be honored at a dinner ceremony in the Reilly Room of Butler's Atherton Center, beginning at 5:30 p.m., on Sunday, July 25.

Slated for induction into the Butler Athletic Hall of Fame on are former student-athletes Clarence Crain ('73, basketball), Chris DeWell Dixon ('86, volleyball), John Dunn ('77, basketball), Bob Eichholtz ('57, football), Larry Goens ('62, football), Melissa Kilgore La Grange ('87, basketball), Larry Shade ('67, basketball, baseball), and Kent Stewart ('60, football), plus the 1959 and 1961 Butler football teams. The new members will constitute the 14th class to be enshrined in Butler's Hall of Fame.

Crain was a three-year basketball letterwinner for the Bulldogs from 1970-73. The talented guard was named Butler's Most Valuable Player and was chosen to receive the Hilton U. Brown Mental Attitude Award in 1973. He led the Bulldogs in field goal shooting in 1971-72, and he topped Butler in assists in 1972-73.

Dixon was a dominant performer for Butler's volleyball teams from 1981 to 1985. She was named the Most Valuable Player in the North Star Conference in 1985, and she was a two-time Butler MVP. A two-time all-conference pick, she set Butler match, season, and career records for hitting percentage, block solos, block assists and total blocks during her career, and she remains Butler's all-time leader in hitting percentage (.308).

Dunn was a four-year basketball letterwinner and two-time all-conference performer, 1974-77. He was named all-league and Butler's Most Valuable Player as a sophomore and then, after bouncing back from a knee injury as a junior, earned all-conference honors again as a senior. He led the Bulldogs in assists in 1974-75 and in free throw shooting in 1976-77.

Eichholtz earned four varsity football letters over six years, 1951-56. He was a top performer for the Bulldogs for three seasons, helping the Bulldogs to conference titles in 1952 and 1953. He then left the team before his senior year to join the Navy. The talented lineman returned to Butler in 1956 and helped the Bulldogs to a 6-2 record. He was named the team's captain and Most Valuable Player in that return season.

Goens was the only player to start every game on Butler's two unbeaten football teams (1959 and 1961). He was a three-year letterwinner as a lineman during the most successful era in Butler football history! During his tenure as a starting lineman, the Bulldogs compiled a 26-1 record and won three consecutive conference championships!

La Grange was a four-year starter at point-guard for the Butler women's basketball teams from 1984 to 1988. She's Butler's all-time assist leader with 584 career assists, and she still stands fifth on the all-time Butler list for steals with 201. A two-time team captain, LaGrange set Butler single game records for assists and steals, as well as a league single game record for steals. She was named Butler's Most Valuable Player in 1987-88.

Shade was a two-sport standout for the Bulldogs from 1963 to 1966. He was a team captain, Most Valuable Player and Hilton U. Brown Mental Attitude Award winner in basketball, and he was a two-time first team all-conference pick in baseball. He led Butler's baseball squads in hitting in both 1965 and 1966, and he won the Bulldogs' Andy Williams Award in 1966.

Stewart was a three-year letterwinner as a fullback for the Bulldogs, 1957-59. He led Butler in rushing and scoring in both 1957 and 1958, and he was named first team all-conference during his junior season. The talented back suffered a knee injury during his senior season in 1959, but he still helped Butler to its first unbeaten football season.

Legendary Butler coach Paul D. "Tony" Hinkle called the 1959 football squad "the greatest football team ever produced by Butler." That year, the Bulldogs completed Butler's first unbeaten, untied season and set a school record for wins with a perfect 9-0 record. The Bulldogs captured a second consecutive Indiana Collegiate Conference championship and finished as one of only 14 unbeaten football teams in the nation!

Two years after Butler's first unbeaten, untied football season, the Bulldogs repeated the feat. Led by Coach Hinkle, the 1961 Bulldogs compiled a 9-0 record and a fourth consecutive conference championship. Butler was ranked ninth in the nation by UPI and tenth in the final AP small college poll. The Bulldogs extended Butler's school-record winning streak to 15 straight games!

The Butler Hall of Fame was created in 1991 to provide a forum in which those who have brought honor and respect to Butler University and its athletic program could be acknowledged and permanently enshrined in Hinkle Fieldhouse. Inductees have each made exceptional contributions to the prestige of the university in the field of athletics, and continued to demonstrate in their lives the values imparted by athletics.

For Hall of Fame ticket information, call (317) 940-9946.