Butler Selects Five For Athletic Hall of Fame

Butler Selects Five For Athletic Hall of Fame

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Five former students, including a men’s soccer All-American and a two-time conference Player of the Year, have been selected for induction into the Butler University Athletic Hall of Fame.  The Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2010 will be honored at a special banquet/ceremony at the Riley Room in Atherton Center on the Butler campus on June 6.

Chosen for induction this summer are Steve Mitchell (football, baseball, 1976-79), Steve Weiger (men’s soccer, 1992-95), Justin Beasley (baseball, 1995-98), Dave Ginn (football, 1981-84) and Jean Ann Bowers Walker (basketball, volleyball, softball, badminton, field hockey, 1956-60).  The five will make up Butler’s 20th Hall of Fame Class.

Mitchell was a varsity letterwinner in both football and baseball, but he had a particular impact on the baseball field.  He was named the Most Outstanding Player in the Heartland Collegiate Conference in 1979, and he was Butler’s Most Valuable Player in both 1978 and 1979.  He holds Butler’s record for longest hitting streak (24 consecutive games), and he pitched one of Butler’s 17 all-time one-hitters.

Weiger, a four-year starter in soccer, was named to the NSCAA/adidas All-America Team in 1995.  He was named Horizon League Player of the Year in 1995, and he was a Butler MVP in both 1993 and 1995.  A three-time all-region player, he currently holds five Butler men’s soccer records, including most goals in a season (19).

Beasley, a four-year starting catcher for the Bulldogs, was a two-time Horizon League Player of the Year, 1996 and 1998.  He was named Butler’s Most Valuable Player twice and was selected as the team’s Offensive Player of the Year in both 1996 and 1998.  A three-time, all-league performer, Beasley holds Butler career records for triples, total bases and slugging percentage.

Ginn, a starting linebacker on Butler’s first NCAA Division II playoff team, was a two-time team Most Valuable Defensive Player (1982 & 1984) and a three-time first team All-Heartland Collegiate Conference performer.  He was the second-leading tackler on Butler’s 1983 NCAA Playoff team, and he led the Bulldogs in the playoffs with 13 tackles against UC Davis.  He set a Butler single game record for tackles in 1982 against Ashland (since broken).

Walker competed in multiple sports in the late 1950s.  She played volleyball, basketball and softball for four consecutive years and badminton and field hockey for two years.  She led an unbeaten basketball team (11-0-2) in scoring as a senior, and she was a two-year leading hitter and top pitcher in softball.  Walker was selected to the first women’s class to be inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2002.

The Butler Hall of Fame was created in 1991 to provide a forum in which those who have brought honor and respect to Butler University and its athletic program could be acknowledged and permanently enshrined in Hinkle Fieldhouse.  Inductees have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of the University in the field of athletics, and continued to demonstrate in their lives the values imparted by athletics.  The Hall of Fame wall is located at the front entrance to Hinkle Fieldhouse.