Katie Clark Advances In NCAA Track Championship

Katie Clark Advances In NCAA Track Championship
Katie Clark (Photo by Sam Roberts)

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Butler junior Katie Clark continued her march in the 2013 NCAA Division I Track and Field Championship with a pair of strong performances at the East Preliminary Round in Greensboro, N.C.  Her next stop is the national semifinal and final rounds in Eugene, Ore.

Clark led a group of seven Butler runners competing in the East Preliminary Round at Irwin Belk Track Inside of Aggie Stadium.  She advanced to the national finals in the women's 10,000 meter run on the first day of the three-day meet, hosted by North Carolina A & T., and then completed her double by advancing in the women's 5,000 on Saturday (May 25).

The Butler distance ace placed 11th in the women's 10,000 in 33:45.23 to advance in that event, becoming the first Butler runner to qualify for the national finals of the women's 10,000.  She then finished her competition at the meet by placing fifth in the women's 5,000 in 16:01.17.

Clark is Butler's record-holder in both the 5,000 and the 10,000.

Also turning in a strong performance for the Bulldogs was sophomore Kodi Mullins, who came in 14th in the men's 3,000 meter steeplechase in 8:50.77.  He missed a "Top 12" finish and a spot in the national finals by 0:00.48.

Junior Ross Clarke and sophomore Tom Curr both successfully advanced to the quarterfinals in the men's 1500 on the opening day of the competition.  Clarke placed ninth in 3:44.73, while Curr came in 21st in 3:48.42 in the first round.  Curr then placed 10th in his heat and 21st overall in 3:53.36 in the quarterfinals, while Clarke was unable to finish the race.

Freshman Olivia Pratt had a solid effort in the women's 5,000 and came in 16th in the same heat as Clark.  The first-year runner finished her initial NCAA race in 16:54.16.

Junior Tom Anderson was unable to finish the men's 10,000, while sophomore Mara Olson did not start the women's 5,000.

The national semifinals and finals will be held at Hayward Field at the University of Oregon, June 5-8.