Butler Sweeps Horizon League Cross Country Championships

Butler Sweeps Horizon League Cross Country Championships

Oct. 27, 2007

Butler captured the top five individual spots in the men's race and four of the top 10 positions in the women's competition while pulling off a double-win at the 2007 Horizon League Cross Country Championship held at Sunset Hills Park in Valparaiso on Saturday, Oct. 27. It was the tenth straight league championship for the Butler men and the sixth consecutive title for the Butler women.

Junior Andy Baker led the Butler men to a perfect score (15) and finished more than a minute ahead of teammate and runner-up Sam Jacobs. Baker finished the race in 24:56 and then had time to cool down, before Jacobs crossed the line in 26:03!

Junior Tommy Davies placed third in 26:09, followed by freshman Matt Lawder in 26:15 and senior Kent Wories in 26:16. The first non-Butler runner across the finish line was Ben Reifenberg of Loyola, who placed sixth in 26:24.

The Bulldogs also picked up a 15th place finish from freshman Nathan Tavenor, who posted a time of 26:46. Freshman Madison Roeder came in 57th in 28:32, senior Chris Smith was 59th in 28:44 and senior Phil Hawley was 74th in 29:44.

Butler's women also ran at the front of the pack and placed three runners in the Top 5. Senior Genni Gardner finished runner-up in 17:38, just five seconds behind individual champ Laura Rolf of host Valparaiso. Senior Claire Holme came in third in 18:13, and junior Rachel Gibbs finished fifth in 18:20. Sophomore Marbeth Shiell was Butler's other Top 10 finisher, coming in seventh with a time of 18:58.

Senior Isabelle Stoate wound up 16th in 19:39 to close out Butler's scoring unit. Senior Aubrey Smith came in 21st in 19:52, while senior Calli Grimes was 24th in 20:11. Senior Sarah Kemple came in 37th in 20:43.

Butler's women posted a team score of 33, well ahead of runner-up Milwaukee (60).

Baker, Jacobs, Davies, Lawder and Wories each earned First Team All-Horizon League recognition after the meet, while Lawder was named the League Newcomer of the Year. Butler head coach Matt Roe was named the League Men's Coach of the Year. On the women's side, Gardner, Holme, Gibbs and Shiell each earned First Team All-League honors.