Andy Baker Named Horizon League Cross Country Athlete Of The Year

Nov. 26, 2007

Butler junior Andy Baker added to his growing list of honors by being selected as the 2007 Horizon League Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year. He was chosen by a vote of the ten Horizon League cross country coaches.

Baker won the individual title at the 2007 Horizon League Championship, finishing more than a minute ahead of teammate and runner-up Sam Jacobs. He went on to finish third at the Great Lakes Regional and then earned All-America recognition by placing 28th at the 2007 NCAA Men's Cross Country Championship. He missed a "Top 20" finish at the natiional meet by just four seconds.

Baker is the sixth straight Butler runner to capture the Horizon League Cross Country Male Athlete of the Year Award, which was first given in 2002. Other Butler winners were Mark Tucker (2002), Olly Laws (2003, Andrew Sherman (2004), Andy Rayner (2005) and Scott Overall (2006).

The Horizon League Cross Country Female Athlete of the Year Award was presented to Laura Rolf of Valparaiso, ending a string of four straight Butler winners. Butler's Becky Lyne won the award in 2003, followed by Victoria Mitchell in 2004 and 2005. Ava Hutchinson won the honor last year.