Baseball Announces Post Season Awards

Baseball Announces Post Season Awards

May 21, 2008

Indianapolis, Ind. - The Butler baseball team concluded its 2008 campaign with the announcement of its post season awards, as selected by a vote of the players. Senior shortstop Joe Pauley took home the top honor as the Team MVP.

Pauley led the Horizon League with 13 home runs on the season while picking up all-league second team honors at shortstop. He finished his final season with a team-high 51 hits, 42 RBI and 38 runs scored while totaling 142 runs in his career, just eight shy of the school record of 150.

Junior right-hander Jeff Sinkiewicz was tabbed as the team's Pitcher of the Year after leading the squad with 63.2 innings pitched while striking out 24 and walking just nine. His 4.95 ERA was tops among the team's regular starters.

On the other side of the ball, sophomore third baseman Kyle Schultz earned the Offensive Player of the Year recognition after posting a team-best .383 batting average and .471 on base percentage, both of which ranked as the fourth-highest in the league. His two home runs hit during the year were the first of his career.

Rookie catcher Michael Letzter claimed both the Newcomer of the Year distinction and Defensive Player of the Year honors following a strong freshman campaign. He started behind the plate in 27 of his 36 games played and threw out a team-high nine runners.

Senior first baseman Ryan Neat and junior catcher Austin Nickol were both presented with the club's Mental Attitude Award. Neat concluded his final season as the Bulldogs' captain and finished second on the team with 47 hits, including the first three home runs of his career. Nickol appeared in 13 games during the season, including six as a starter, and boasted a .250 batting average during league play.

Team Awards
MVP - Joe Pauley
Newcomer of the Year - Michael Letzter
Pitcher of the Year - Jeff Sinkiewicz
Offensive Player of the Year - Kyle Schultz
Defensive player of the Year - Michael Letzter
Mental Attitude Award - Ryan Neat and Austin Nickol