Ronald Nored, Roosevelt Jones Earn All-League Honors

Ronald Nored, Roosevelt Jones Earn All-League Honors

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Butler senior Ronald Nored (right) and freshman teammate Roosevelt Jones have been named to the 2011-12 Horizon League Men’s Basketball All-League Team, released by the league office on Monday (Feb. 27).  The two Butler players were chosen by a vote of league coaches, media and sports information directors.

Nored, enjoying his most productive season as a Butler player, was selected second team All-League.  The Butler co-captain was honored further by being named to the league’s All-Defensive Team for the third consecutive year and by being selected league Defensive Player of the Year for the second time in three-years.

Jones (below right), who’s started 25 games in his first season with the Bulldogs, was one of five players named to the league’s All-Newcomer Team.

Named first team All-League were Ryan Broekhoff of Valparaiso, Ray McCallum of Detroit, Kendrick Perry of Youngstown State, Kevin Van Wijk of Valparaiso and Alex Brown of Green Bay.  Joining Nored on the second team were Julius Mays of Wright State, Kaylon Williams of Milwaukee, Trevon Harmon of Cleveland State and Ben Averkamp of Loyola.

The All-Newcomer Team included Mays, Keifer Sykes of Green Bay, Anton Grady of Cleveland State and Gary Talton of UIC, in addition to Jones.

Nored, who was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 2009-10, headed an All-Defensive squad that included Damian Eargle of Youngstown State, D’Aundray Brown of Cleveland State, Ryan Allen of Milwaukee and Harmon.

Broekhoff, who helped lead Valparaiso to its first regular season title, was chosen Horizon League Player of the Year, while Mays was selected as the league’s Newcomer of the Year.  Detroit’s Eli Holman was picked as the league’s Sixth Man of the Year, and Valparaiso head coach Bryce Drew was named league Coach of the Year.

Butler will open tournament play in the 2012 Horizon League Men’s Basketball Championship on Tuesday, Feb. 28, at home against Wright State at 7 p.m. (ET).