Mike Green, Matt Howard Earn Top League Honors

Mike Green, Matt Howard Earn Top League Honors

March 3, 2008

Butler senior Mike Green was named Player of the Year and freshman Matt Howard was chosen Newcomer of the Year on the 2007-08 Horizon League All-League Men's Basketball Team, released by the league office on Monday (March 3). The two were among four Butler players honored on the All-League team, chosen by coaches, media and sports information directors.

Green was a unanimous first team All-League selection, and he received 42 of 46 Player of the Year votes. He also was chosen to the League's All-Defensive Team. The 6-1 guard wound up the regular season leading the 27-3 and first place Bulldogs in scoring (14.5), rebounding (6.4) and assists (5.13). He currently leads the Horizon League in assists and ranks among the league leaders in scoring, rebounding, steals, assist/turnover ratio and free throw shooting. A year ago, Green was named Horizon League Newcomer of the Year and was a second team all-league pick.

Howard became the first true freshman to earn Horizon League Newcomer of the Year honors since 1996, when T. J. Lux of Northern Illinois captured the honor. The 6-8 Butler forward, who also was named second team All-League and was picked to the league's All-Newcomer Team, currently leads the league in field goal shooting (.606) and ranks second in offensive rebounds (2.47). He also ranks among the league leaders in scoring (12.6), rebounding (5.6), free throw shooting (.784) and blocked shots (1.17).

Also honored from Butler were senior guard A. J. Graves and senior forward Drew Streicher. Graves, who boasts a 13.5 scoring average, was named first team All-League for the second consecutive year, while Streicher joined Green on the league's All-Defensive Team.

In addition to Green and Graves, the All-League first team included J'Nathan Bullock of Cleveland State, Josh Mayo of UIC and Vaughn Duggins of Wright State. Cedric Jackson of Cleveland State, Jon Goode of Detroit, Mike Schachtner of Green Bay and Paige Paulsen of Milwaukee joined Howard on the second team, while Jackson, Rahmon Fletcher of Green Bay, Deonte Roberts of Milwaukee and Vytas Sulskis completed the All-Newcomer Team. Jackson, Terry Evans of Green Bay and Scott VanderMeer of UIC rounded out the All-Defensive Team.

Evans was selected by league coaches as the Defensive Player of the Year, while Jarryd Loyd of Valparaiso was named Sixth Man of the Year. Gary Waters of Cleveland State and Brad Brownell of Wright State shared Coach of the Year honors.

2007-08 ALL-LEAGUE FIRST TEAM: A. J. Graves, Butler; Mike Green, Butler; J'Nathan Bullock, Cleveland State; Josh Mayo, UIC; Vaughn Duggins, Wright State.

2007-08 ALL-LEAGUE SECOND TEAM: Matt Howard, Butler; Cedric Jackson, Cleveland State; Jon Goode, Detroit; Mike Schachtner, Green Bay; Paige Paulsen, Milwaukee.

2007-08 ALL-NEWCOMER TEAM: Matt Howard, Butler; Cedric Jackson, Cleveland State; Rahmon Fletcher, Green Bay; Deonte Roberts, Milwaukee; Vytas Sulskis, Youngstown State.

2007-08 ALL-DEFENSIVE TEAM: Mike Green, Butler; Drew Streicher, Butler; Cedric Jackson, Cleveland State; Terry Evans, Green Bay; Scott VanderMeer, UIC.

Player of the Year: Mike Green, Butler
Newcomer of the Year: Matt Howard, Butler
Co-Coaches of the Year: Gary Waters, Cleveland State; Brad Brownell, Wright State
Defensive Player of the Year: Terry Evans, Green Bay
Sixth Man of the Year: Jarryd Loyd, Valparaiso