Butler Places 14 On All-PFL Squad

Butler Places 14 On All-PFL Squad

2011 All-PFL Release (PDF)

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Junior linebacker Jordan Ridley (right), named first team all-league for the second consecutive year, was one of 14 Butler players selected to the 2011 All-Pioneer Football League Team, released by the league office on Tuesday (Nov. 22).  The 19th All-PFL team was chosen by a vote of league coaches.
Ridley, who led the PFL in tackles for a second consecutive year, was joined on the all-league first team by teammates Zach Watkins (below) and Pete Mattingly.  Watkins, a second team all-league pick a year ago,  earned first team recognition as a wide receiver, while Mattingly, an honorable mention all-league selection a year ago, was selected as an offensive lineman.  Watkins, Butler's all-time leading pass receiver, finished second in the PFL in both receptions (80) and receiving yards (1,044).  Both marks were Butler school records.

Named second team All-PFL for the Bulldogs, who finished the year with a 5-6 record, were running back Trae Heeter, linebacker Nick Caldicott and defensive back Andy Dauch.  Heeter led the Bulldogs and ranked fourth in the PFL in rushing (79.2 ypg), while Dauch finished as Butler's second-leading tackler with 74 stops on the year.  Caldicott, who missed Butler's final three games with injury, was chosen to the All-PFL team for the third consecutive year.  Heeter was an honorable mention All-PFL selection as a return specialist in 2010.

Butler had eight additional players earn honorable mention on the all-league squad.  Quarterback Andrew Huck, who finished his career in second place on Butler's all-time passing list (6,581 yards), received the honor for the second time in three years, while senior David Lang earned honorable mention for the second straight year.  Lang finished his career as Butler's all-time leader in field goals with 35.

Also receiving honorable mention recognition were tight end Matt Jenson, offensive linemen Matt Storey and Jay Howard, defensive end Grant Hunter, defensive back Sean Grady and return specialist Jordan Koopman.  Hunter, a first team All-PFL defensive end in 2008, was named to the all-league squad for the third year.

Drake quarterback Mike Piatkowski was selected as the PFL's Offensive Player of the Year, while San Diego defensive lineman Blake Oliaro was chosen league Defensive Player of the Year.  San Diego wide receiver Brandon White was tabbed as the PFL Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, and Drake linebacker Travis Merritt was named league Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.  Ron Caragher of San Diego was voted league Coach of the Year.

Drake and San Diego shared the 2011 PFL title.

(Photos by Brent Smith)