Twelve Butler Players Earn All-PFL Recognition

Twelve Butler Players Earn All-PFL Recognition
Senior Jordan Ridley (Photo by Brent Smith)

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Twelve players from Butler's league champion football team, headed by three-time first team pick Jordan Ridley, have been selected to the 2012 All-Pioneer Football League Team, released by the league office on Tuesday (Dec. 11).  The 20th All-PFL team was chosen by a vote of league coaches.

Ridley, a senior linebacker, was one of three unanimous picks to the All-League squad (along with wide receiver Mike Rios and defensive lineman Terrence Fede of Marist) and was one of six Butler players named first team All-PFL.  Ridley, who finished fifth in the conference in tackles in 2012 after leading the league for two consecutive years, became one of just 41 players in league history to earn first team All-League recognition three times.

Also selected first team All-PFL from Butler were quarterback Matt Lancaster, running back Trae Heeter, offensive lineman Matt Storey, defensive lineman Jeremy Stephens and defensive back Sean Grady.  Lancaster, in his first season as Butler's starting quarterback after transferring from Illinois State, was named the PFL's Offensive Player of the Year, while Heeter, who was a second team all-league pick a year ago, led the conference in rushing.  Stephens led the league's defensive linemen in tackles and finished second in the conference in tackles for loss, while Grady was third in the conference among defensive backs in tackles.  Storey, an honorable mention pick on the 2011 All-PFL Team, earned all-league recognition for the second time.

Butler also placed junior wide receiver Brendan Shannon on the All-PFL second team.  Shannon finished third in the conference in receptions and fourth in receiving yards, while leading the Bulldogs with eight touchdown receptions.

Five additional Butler players earned honorable mention on the All-PFL squad.  Named on offense were linemen David Tiwari and Charles Perrecone, while linemen Kyle Annis and Glen Somers and safety Jayme Szafranski were picked to the defensive unit.  Annis was named PFL Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.

Butler, which earned a share of the PFL championship with a 7-1 mark (8-3 overall), was tied for fifth in the league in total number of all-league players.  Jacksonville led the way with 20 players selected, while Drake and San Diego had 17 all-league picks apiece.  Morehead State had 15 players chosen to the honor squad, while Marist joined Butler with 12.

The Academic All-PFL team will be released by the league office on Wednesday, Dec. 12, concluding the league's awards week.