Butler Football Players Honored

Butler Football Players Honored
Jordan Ridley (left) and Matt Storey

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Butler seniors Jordan Ridley and Matt Storey were among 703 college football players from all divisions of play named to the 2013 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society.  The players represented 259 schools, the most in the seven-year history of the society.

To qualify for the NFF Hampshire Society, a player must be a starter or significant substitute in his last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or NAIA college or university and have maintained a 3.2 cumulative grade point average.  Players must have met NCAA mandated progress toward degree requirements and graduation.

Ridley, an honor student majoring in Science, Technology and Society, closed out his career as Butler's third all-time leading tackler.  He was a three-time, first-team All-Pioneer Football League performer, and he was Butler's Defensive Most Valuable Player for three consecutive years.  He led the Bulldogs in tackles in each of his final three seasons, and he topped the PFL in tackles for two straight years.

Storey, an honor student majoring in mechanical engineering and math, was named Butler's Offensive Lineman of the Year in 2012.  The Butler team captain earned first team All-PFL recognition as a senior, after garnering honorable mention All-PFL recognition as a junior.  He started 33 consecutive games for the Bulldogs.

The two Butler seniors were among 15 PFL players named to the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.

Matt Lancaster Named to CFPA Watch List

Butler senior Matt Lancaster was named to the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Quarterback Award.  The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-two returning players contending for the top quarterback honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Lancaster, who transferred to Butler from Illinois State, was named the Pioneer Football League Offensive Player of the Year last fall.  He led Butler to an 8-3 season and a share of the 2012 PFL championship.  The Butler signal caller ranked second in the league in total offense (3,111), third in touchdown passes (21) and fourth in passing efficiency (140.5).  He completed 217 of 361 passes for 2,708 yards, and he rushed for an additional 408 yards on 111 carries.  Lancaster finished third on the team in scoring with eight touchdowns and one two-point conversion.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.  Currently, there are 111 previous CFPA recipients listed on 2013 NFL rosters.