Butler Completes 2013 Football Recruiting Class

Butler Completes 2013 Football Recruiting Class

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Six months after wrapping up a share of the Pioneer Football League championship, Butler took another step toward its next conference run with the completion of its 2013 recruiting class.  Head coach Jeff Voris added 24 players to bolster Butler's fall roster, which includes 43 returning letterwinners.

Butler's incoming class of recruits represents ten different states.  Illinois and Ohio each have six players heading to Butler, while three incoming players are from Tennessee.  The Bulldogs also are adding two players each from Indiana and North Carolina, as well as players from California, Texas, Maryland, Wisconsin and Kentucky.

Here's a breakdown of Butler's incoming players by state:
Illinois:  Jacob Balder, Deerfield (DB), Curtis Beckman, Forsyth (DL), Chad Burdo, Oswego (DL), Ryan Donohue, Monticello (RB), Jordan Lampe, Germantown (DL), David Starkey, Wauconda (LB).
Ohio:  Justin Crull, Loveland (DB), Andy Elberson, Powell (DB), Michael Robinson, Dublin (OL), Jaxon Sher, Bexley (OL), Ben Versosa, Cincinnati (LB), Nick Weaver, Loveland (WR).
Tennessee:  Zach Bacon, Franklin (DL), McCord Collier, Franklin (TE), Kenneth Garrett, Franklin (DB).
Indiana:  Nick Merlina, Carmel (DL), Sam Schrader, Mishawaka (RB).
North Carolina:  Chase Ferguson, Charlotte (QB), Taylor Wilson, Raleigh (DB).
California:  Omari Gray, Sacramento (WR).
Texas:  Ellis Cupit, Plano (OL).
Wisconsin:  Brandon Kim, Hartland (WR).
Kentucky:  Brad Weber, Union (OL).
Maryland:  Joshua Willis, Bowie (DL).

The Bulldogs are coming off an 8-3 season, including a 7-1 PFL record and a share of the league title.  It was Butler's second PFL championship in four seasons.    

Trae Heeter Named to CFPA Watch List

Butler senior Trae Heeter was named to the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Running Back Award.  The preliminary watch list highlights twenty-nine returning players contending for the top running back honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Heeter, who earned Butler's Offensive Top Dog Award last fall, led the Pioneer Football League in rushing with 1,103 yards in 2012.  He had two of the PFL's five 200-yard rushing performances last season, including a career-best 241 yards against Davidson.  He led the Bulldogs in scoring (66 points) and all-purpose yards (1,230), and he tied for the PFL lead in touchdowns (11).  He was named first team All-PFL.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.  Currently, there are 111 previous CFPA recipients listed on 2013 NFL rosters.