Butler Places 61 Players On PFL Academic Honor Roll

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Butler had 61 football players, or more than 60% of the team, named to the Pioneer Football League Academic Honor Roll for the 2013 fall semester.  The Bulldogs ranked third in the 12-member PFL in total number of players named to the honor roll.

Dayton had a league-high 72 players selected to the honor squad, while Drake had 66 players chosen.  The league average was 49 students with a total of 590 athletes honored.  It was the seventh consecutive year that the PFL has seen an increase in the total number of student-athletes recognized on the annual academic honor roll.  

Pioneer Football League athletic directors established the honor roll as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes.  The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the fall semester and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher, while enrolled full-time in accordance with NCAA rules.

Named from Butler were Brian Akialis (Middle/Secondary Education), Greg Ambrose (Recording Industry Studies), Kyle Annis (Actuarial Science), Jacob Balder (Business Exploratory), Bryce Barry (Middle/Secondary Education), Curtis Beckman (Business Exploratory), Mike Biegalski (Middle/Secondary Education), Richard Brodbeck (Computer Science), Chad Burdo (Finance), David Burke (Marketing), Jojo Ciancio (Economics and Finance), McCord Collier (Business Exploratory), Brandon Collins (Finance), Kevin Cook (Accounting), Daniel Cotter (Pre-Pharmacy), Ellis Cupit (Physics), Michael Demos (Criminology), Ian Dobek (Science, Technology and Society), Jake Doman (Business Exploratory), Greg Egan (Finance and Risk Management & Insurance), Zach Gorge (International Business), Sean Grady, Middle/Secondary Education), Dan Haber (Finance), Joe Hackett (Biology), Trae Heeter (Elementary Education), Sean Horan (Economics and Mechanical Engineering), Matt Jenson (Biology and Spanish), Dylan Johnson (Chemistry), Tom Judge (Finance), Brandon Kim (Biology), Matt Lancaster (Chemistry), Wade Markley (ASccounting), Jordan Massey (Middle/Secondary Education), Nick McInally (Finance), Dominic Merlina (Organizational Command Leadership), Quinn Murphy (Finance), Charles Perrecone (Finance), Doug Petty (Biology), Jeff Pikel (Marketing), Robert Pollard (Strategic Communications), Nestor Porres (Digital Media Production), Brett Prather (Actuarial Science), Adam Rodgers (Middle/Secondary Education), Thad Satre (Finance), Jack Schaub (Middle/Secondary Education), Sam Schrader (Business Exploratory), Jimmy Schwabe (Political Science and History), Zack Sedivy (Business Exploratory), Brendan Shannon (Science, Technology and Society), Bret Shannon (Marketing), Matt Shiltz (Accounting), Richard Sorrentino (Middle/Secondary Education), Steven Sreniawski (Finance), David Starkey (Business Exploratory), Jamie Szafranski (Finance), Zach Taylor (Accounting), Jon Treloar (Finance), Ben Versoza (Business Exploratory), Rico Watson (Chemistry and Biomedical Engineering), Brad Weber (Business Exploratory) and Zack Wolfe (Acturial Science).